Gustav Klimt Project- What inspires you?

I just finished a very fun lesson with my 3rd grade class that I wanted to share. It was inspired by the book Klimt and His Cat.  We all know 3rd graders love animals, mosaics and metallic paper. It was a win!!

The big idea behind this lesson was, “What inspires you?” I shared with the students information about the life of Gustav Klimt and some of his artwork. (*I had to pick carefully as some is not child appropriate) I also showed them examples of the different influences in his art, like Egyptian Art, Byzantine Churches and Mosaics, Nature and Patterns, other Artists, and his beloved cats. Knowing that not everyone is a cat person- I gave the students a chance to commemorate their favorite animal friend in an Art Nouveau style- inspired by Klimt’s patterns and metallics. Some chose cats, some chose dogs… and in the process, they were able to think of their own personal symbols and influences. I was able to share a few spreads from the book Klimt and His Cat to support the lesson.

Leave a Reply

